About the Canadian Society of Medievalists

The Canadian Society of Medievalists/Société canadienne des médiévistes is a scholarly association dedicated to promoting excellence in research and teaching in all fields of medieval studies. The Society holds an annual conference during the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences and publishes the peer-reviewed scholarly journal Florilegium, which is available via the University of Toronto Press and via Project MUSE.  Florilegium is included in the membership, as is Scrinium, the Society’s biannual newsletter. While CSM/SCM is based in Canada, its membership is international.

Officers of the CSM

President (2020)

Kathy Cawsey (Dalhousie University,  kathy.cawsey@dal.ca)

Vice-President (2020)

Marc Cels (Athabasca University, marcc@athabascau.ca)

Past President  (2020)

Dominic Marner (University of Guelph, dmarner@uoguelph.ca)

Secretary-Treasurer (2021)

Brandon Alakas (University of Alberta, Augustana Campus, alakas@ualberta.ca)

Florilegium Editor (2024)

Christa Canitz (University of New Brunswick, Florilegium@unb.ca)

Florilegium Co-editors, French (2019)

Sébastien Rossignol (Memorial University of Newfoundland, srossignol@mun.ca)

Christine McWebb (University of Waterloo)

CSM Webmasters (2020)

canmedwebmaster@gmail.com

Andrew Klein (St. Thomas University) and Elias Fahssi (Calgary)

Public Relations Officers (canmedievalistsPR@gmail.com)

Alvionne Gardner-Harrison (2021, University of British Columbia)

Stephanie Lahey (2020, University of Victoria)

Sam Lehman (2021, Memorial University)

Kenna Olsen (2021, Mount Royal University)

Donna Trembinski (2021, St. Francis Xavier University)

French Translator (2019)

Lucie Laumonier (University of Calgary,
lucie.laumonier@ucalgary.ca)

Margaret Wade Labarge Prize Chair (2020)

Shannon McSheffrey (Concordia University, Montreal, Shannon.Mcsheffrey@concordia.ca)

Leonard Boyle Prize Chair (2020) 

Allison Fizzard (Campion College—University of Regina, Allison.Fizzard@uregina.ca)

Representative to the CFHSS (2020)

Dominic Marner (University of Guelph, dmarner@uoguelph.ca)

Advisory Board

Kenneth F. Duggan (2021, Student Rep: Kenneth.f.duggan@gmail.com )

Joanne Findon (2021, Trent University, jfindon@trentu.ca)

Erik Kwakkel (2021, University of British Columbia, erik.kwakkel@ubc.ca)

Shannon McSheffrey (2021, Université Concordia, Shannon.McSheffrey@concordia.ca)

Jacqueline Murray (2020, University of Guelph)

Allison Fizzard (2020, Campion College, University of Regina)

Alison More, St Michael's College (2020, University of Toronto, Alison.More@utoronto.ca)

Christine Eckholst (2020, Uppsala University, christine.eckholst@hist.uu.se)


Past Presidents

    
     David Watt

     John Osborne

     Elizabeth Edwards

     Anna Smol

     James Weldon

     Carol Harvey

     Andrew Taylor

     Jacqueline Murray

     Paul Dutton

     Joanne Norman

     Hans Runte

     Margaret Wade Labarge 

Past Editors of Florilegium

     James Weldon

     Carol J. Harvey

     M. Jane Toswell

     Douglas Wurtele

     Roger C. Blockley


© 2019-20 The Society of Canadian Medievalists. Designed and Developed by Andrew Klein and Elias Fahssi. All rights reserved.  Powered by Wild Apricot.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software